2013 Iceman Youth Scholarship Awards

Exports-0575This year, the youth categories at Iceman totaled over 100 riders and saw some incredibly fast times. As the youth categories continue to grow, we continue to see riders from outside the state of Michigan coming to add to the competition level. We saw riders from Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Ohio, Indiana, Colorado, Iowa and North Carolina. The competition was close with top 5 male riders separated by less than 3 minutes and all 5 females finishing in the top 100 of all female finishers. We awarded $4,200 this year to the top five male and top five female rides ages 18 and under.

We are proud to be involved with Iceman and help continue to grow the youth segment while supporting young riders continued education beyond cycling. Below is a list of this years scholarship winners.


 Name  City  Team  Time
 1st Ksenia Lepikhina  Boulder, CO  BMC MTB Development Team  2:18:21
 2nd  Keely Jackson  Hayward, WI  VERTIGRIS VILLAGE  2:21:03
 3rd  Kyra Jackson  Hayward, WI  VERTIGRIS VILLAGE 2:21:29
 4th  Danielle Mullis Rochester Hills, MI  2:33:19
 5th  Victory Harris  Holland, MI  2:36:05

Unfortunately, due to some unforeseen issues, we do not have a photo of the mens podium.

 Name  City  Team  Time
 1st Luke Beemer Brownsburg, IN  Team World Bicycle Relief 1:59:47
 2nd Joe Lautzenheiser North Lawrence, OH 2:20:26
 3rd Greg Shultz Oxford, MI RBS Cycling 2:00:28
 4th Kurt Vogt Macomb, MI RBS Cycling 2:01:20
 5th Caleb Ohland Schoolcraft, MI Breakaway Bicycles 2:02:07


Leave a Reply